Our Constitution

In February 1890, leading representatives from the six Australian colonies and New Zealand (who are now referred to as our Founding Fathers) met at the Australasian federation Conference held in Melbourne and drafted the Australian Constitution. This document is based on the British Westminster system, but also incorporates provisions from the constitutions of the United States, Canada and Switzerland. The Australian Constitution and has underpinned our culture and enabled us to enjoy the freedoms we have, while also continuing to protect the democracy our country for the past 120 years.