What Are the Commonwealth Realms?


These are independent kingdoms where Elizabeth II is Queen and Sovereign. There are 16 of them (see below) and all are members of the Commonwealth of Nations. Each Realm, being independent of all the others, titles the Queen differently.

The 16 realms are:

  1. Antigua and Bermuda
  2. Australia
  3. Bahamas
  4. Barbados
  5. Belize
  6. Canada
  7. Grenada
  8. Jamaica
  9. New Zealand
  10. Papua New Guinea
  11. Saint Kitts and Nevis
  12. Saint Lucia
  13. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  14. Solomon Islands
  15. Tuvalu
  16. United Kingdom


The Queen’s title within Australia is: “Elizabeth II by the Grace of God, Queen of Australia and Her other Realms and Territories, Head of the Commonwealth”.